Whatsapp Users On Android Devices: You Can Soon Lose A Big Storage Advantage
Android users can soon lose unlimited storage on Google Drive to save their chats and media. The reports say that WhatsApp on Android can lose its free Google backups. WhatsApp beta for Android shows that the company is continuously working on the backup tool feature. WABetaInfo seemed to be the new import option in the latest beta release of WhatsApp for Android v18.104.22.168. However, the quality is still in the works, so the backup tool is not fully functional.
The New Backup Tool Mean For Android Users
Currently, chat history backups in WhatsApp are not counted as a part of the Google Drive storage, but this can change when the company starts rolling out the new feature. When a user sets up WhatsApp, it allows him to import a backup from the Google account linked to their device, and there is no other option to import a local backup as we know that all WhatsApp data of Android users are by default saved on Google Drive linked to the account. WhatsApp backups are tied to the mobile number and Google account they are created on. This will change when the new import/export feature comes to WhatsApp on Android.
Why WhatsApp May Be Bringing This Tool
The reason behind WhatsApp’s offering of this tool is not apparent. However, maybe the possibility is that Google may no longer want to offer unlimited storage to WhatsApp users on Android. Last year in June, Google also stopped allowing unlimited storage with Google Photos. Now users have a Google account that offers 15GB of free storage, shared across Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos. Users can buy a Google One membership to add to their extra storage.
What About iPhone Users
Apple iPhone users have always been saved locally on the device, and the backups get stored on iCloud backup. iPhone users do not receive any unlimited storage on WhatsApp. If the amount of available storage on your device reaches low levels, WhatsApp cannot work correctly. If this happens, WhatsApp could prompt you to free up space to continue using the app and warns iPhone users on its FAQ page.